EventsList Your ShowWeekly Cruise NightsFREE Classified AdsPlace a Free AdCar ClubsCar ShowsAuto RacingCruise NightsReader's RidesManufacturer NewsExoticsHot RodsLowridersMuscle CarsSports CarsTunersOn the RoadPerformance/MachineRestoration/BodyProject One 87Submit Your RideLinksAbout UsContact UsAdvertise

Moonshine Car Care Products

Joey Logano Wins NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Can-Am 500, taking the Second to Last Race for the Chase at Phoenix International Raceway


Avondale, ARIZ. (November 13, 2016) – In a green white finish, Joey Logano took the checkered flag on the final lap of NASCAR’s Sprint Cup Can-Am 500 at Phoenix International Raceway Sunday afternoon.  Front runners Jimmie Johnson and Matt Kenseth put Logano out front after they collected themselves in a Turns 1 crash on the previous green white restart.

Joey Logano Wins the 2015 Can-Am 500 at Phoenix International Raceway. It's Down to the Final Four in the Chase

Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick race for position during the Can-Am 500 at PIR

Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick race for position during the Can-Am 500 at PIR

Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Carl Edwards and Kyle Busch made it into the final four in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion race in Homestead-Miami during the Ford Eco Boost 400 next weekend.

Coming into the second to last race for the Chase of the 2016  Nascar Spring Cup Series Championship, Jimmie Johnson and Carl Edwards had already secured two of the top four positions that will battle it out at Homestead-Miami next weekend.  Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, and Denny Hamlin were all competing for the final two Chase spots during Phoenix International Raceway’s Can-Am 500.

Winning the past several races in Phoenix, Harvick was favored to take the checkered flag on Sunday.  Harvick and Kurt Busch have 27 starts at Phoenix International Raceway.  Harvick has eight wins while Jimmie Johnson has four.  Johnson has 15 top five finishes compared to Harvicks 12.  Denny Hamlin has 10 top five finishes at Phoenix.  Kevin Harvick holds the record for most laps led with 264 on on November 9, 2014.  Last year, Jimmie Johnson had the fastest qualifying speed at 143.158 mph.  Jimmie Johnson has 19 top 10 finishes compared to Harvick’s and Kurt Busch’s 16.

sklute_9642Starting on the Pole, the No. 88 of Alex Bowman led 184 of the 312 laps on the tri-oval at PIR, ultimately finishing in sixth place.  The defending champion, Kevin Harvick started 6th and finished 4th overall.  The No. 18 of Toyota of Kyle Busch finished 2nd after starting in the 19th position.  The No. 42 Chevrolet of Kyle Larson finished 3rd after starting second.  The No. 41 Chevrolet of Kurt Busch rounded out the top 5, working his way up to the front of the field from his 12th place starting position.

After a green/white checkered start, Matt Kenseth and Jimmie Johnson got together in turn one, sending Kenseth Backing in to the wall.  The crash would put Logano out front on the next green white checkered.  Logano took the lead on the restart and took the checkered flag uncontested, winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Can-Am 500 and securing his spot in the Final Four for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion race during the Ford Eco Boost 400 next weekend at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Scroll down to check out some of the action on the track Sunday at Phoenix International Raceway Sunday afternoon.

Comments are closed.

Moonshine Car Care Products

error: Content is protected !!