EventsList Your ShowWeekly Cruise NightsFREE Classified AdsPlace a Free AdCar ClubsCar ShowsAuto RacingCruise NightsReader's RidesManufacturer NewsExoticsHot RodsLowridersMuscle CarsSports CarsTunersOn the RoadPerformance/MachineRestoration/BodyProject One 87Submit Your RideLinksAbout UsContact UsAdvertise

Moonshine Car Care Products

Torrence, Force and McGaha take the Wallys at the NHRA Arizona Nationals. John Force goes Boom!

Chandler, ARIZ. (February 25, 2018) – The stands were full Sunday as fans packed into Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park to watch the 2018 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series’ NHRA Arizona Nationals.  There to take in the sights, sounds and smells as NHRA’s competitors thundered down the dragstrip.

There were some upsets as the final elimination rounds of the 2018 NHRA Arizona Nationals got under way Sunday morning.  The first pair of Top Fuel Dragsters up on the line were Don Schumacher Racing’s Tony Schumacher and Tucson’s Gregory Carillo.  The well funded Schumacher qualified No.1 Carillo, more of a grass roots team qualified 16th.  In what would turn into a pedal fest after the tree dropped, Carillo would get the win with a 4.223, 221.27 mph pass.  Carillo went on to take out DSR’s Antron Brown in E2 before being taken out by Scott Palmer in E3.

Steve Torrence and Scott Palmer met in the final round of Top Fuel Dragster.  Palmer went up in smoke after launching off the line.  Steve Torrence ran a 2.729 at 330.72 mph for the Wally.

Don Schumacher Racing would be stung again in the first elimination round of Fuel Funny Car as underdog Richard Townsend in the Nitroholoc would take “Fast” Jack Beckman out of the game after Beckman went up in smoke.  Townsend was taken out in E2 by Tommy Johnson Jr.

John Force and Jonnie Lindberg faced off against each other in E2 of Fuel Funny Car.  Force’s engine grenaded as he crossed the finish line, blowing the body and sending him into Lindberg’s lane.  Lindberg and Force collected against the wall, putting Force’s chassis on top of Lindberg’s cockpit.  Their parachetes entangled, both cars would come to rest against the left wall past the bridge.  Force took the win, but would not make it back to the line for E3.  Both drivers were uninjured in the incident.

Courtney Force in her Advanced Auto Parts Chevrolet Camaro and Tommy Johnson Jr. in the Make a Wish Dodge Charger R/T made it to the Fuel Funny Car finals.  Johnson got off the line first with an .052 light against Force’s .104, but would later go up in smoke.  Courtney ran a 3.834 at 288.64 mph for the win.

Pro Stock saw Chris McGaha in the Harlow Sammons Racing Chevrolet Camaro and Jason Line in the Summit Racing Equipment Chevrolet Camaro meeting in the final round of eliminations.  When the tree dropped, McGaha got off the line first with a .007 light against Line’s .023.  McGaha not only cut a better light, but he would run a quicker ET with a 6.529, 211.59 mph pass for the win.  Line ran a 6.538 at 210.14 mph.

Tii Tharpe took the win in Top Fuel Harley.

Paul Nero took the in in Top Dragster.

Justin Lamb took the win in Super Stock.

Jody Lang took the win in Stock Eliminator.

Trevor Harkema took the win in Super Comp.

Todd Barton took the win in Super Gas.

David Kiesel took the win in Super Street.

Brian Warr took the win in Top Sportsman.

Thanks to Ken Sklute from Serendipity Visuals for the help with photographing the event.

Leave a Comment

Moonshine Car Care Products

error: Content is protected !!